ATHLETICS.

E. Brooke Novice Champion.

ST. GEORGE TEAM WINNERS.

E. Brooke, of the St. George club, proved the best novice of the year, by winning the five miles cross-country championship on Saturday. The race was the 15th promoted by the East Sydney club, and was held at Rose Bay. St. George also won the teams' race, and the sealed handicap was secured by W. Hunt, of the promoting body. This event was for athletes, who had not received a prize in an open run of two miles or farther.

Brooke won by five seconds from the country runner, A. Kaine, who ran with the Botany club. J. Williams was fourth, and E. Baker (St. George) fifth.

The winner gave indication of his quality in a two miles inter-club race last summer, but having the novice championship in view, did not seek to lose his status by obtaining a "Dunn Shield" or State championship prize. Since the winter racing commenced the St. George runner has given brilliant exhibitions in club distance races, securing the club championship, and defeating A. Gainsford, triple 10 miles State champion. St. George club for the third consecutive year gained the teams' championship, and the individual places last year also went to the St. George club. The teams' race was closely contested, East Sydney being five points behind with South Sydney six points in the rear of the second team. It is impossible to make comparisons of times owing to the variation of the course each year, but Brooke's figures were 1m 19s faster than those recorded by figures were Im 19s faster than those recorded by R. V. Wright in 1926, when Brooke was unplaced, and Kaine, the second man on Saturday, was also a starter on that occasion. W. Hunt, of East Sydney, who is better known as a track runner, received 2m 45s allowance in the sealed handicap, and this placed him first in that event. Results:—

INDIVIDUAL CHAMPIONSHIPS.

E. Brooke (St. George A.A.C.), 29m 10s, 1; A. Kaine (Botany Harriers), 29m 15s, 2; J. Williams (South Sydney A.A.C.), 29m 50s, 3; E. Baker (St. George), 29m 55s, 4; E. Baker (Manly), 30m 26s, 5; W. J. Hyland (East Sydney), 30m 37s, 6; T. McAlister (East Sydney), 30m 42s, 7; W. Hunt (East Sydney), 30m 50s, 8; J. Scott (Botany), 31m 4s, 9; E. C. Palmer (South Sydney), 31m 8s, 10; T. Hovenden (Western Suburbs), 31m 30s, 11; B. Tyson (St. George), 31m 34s, 12.

LEAMS' BACE.

St. George A.A.C.: E. Brooke, 1, E. Baker, 4, B. Tyson, 12, A. Longhurst, 14, 31 points ... 1

East Sydney A.A.C.: W. J. Hyland, 6, T. McAlister, 7, W. Hunt, 8, A. John, 15, 36 points 2

South Sydney A.A.C.: J. Williams, 8. E. C. Palmer, 10, L. B. Bellamy, 13, W. F. Fountain, 16, 42 points 3

Botany Harriers: 2, 9, 8, 18, 27, 56 points, 4; Western Suburbs A.A.C., 11, 17, 21, 31, 80 points, 5.

SEALED HANDICAP.

W. Hunt (East Sydney), all. 2m 45s, handicap time 28m 14s, 1; A. Longhurst (St. George), 2m 15s, 28m 26s, 2; B. Tyson (St. George), 3m, 28m 34s, 3; L. B. Bellamy (South Sydney), 3m, 28m 38s, 4; E. Baker (St. George), 1m 10s, 28m 45s, 5; A. John (East Sydney), 3m, 29m 1s, 6.

Sydney), 3m, 29m 1s, 6.

Previous winners:—Individual: 1911, C. H. Foster (E. Syd.); 1912, T. Frazer (Sth. Syd.); 1913, K. Foster (E. Syd.); 1914, A. B. Stephens (Hurlstone Pk.); 1915, P. Bland (Bot.); 1716, C. Bennett (Bot.); 1917-18, no races held; 1919, H. R. Turner (Bot.); 1920, W. T. May (St. Syd.); 1921, H. Swinbourne (Bot.); 1922, S. Greenfield (Bot.) (F. Bailey finished first, but was disqualified); 1923; F. Bailey (Sth. Syd.); 1924, L. J. Brodie (St. Geo.); 1925, M. Vaughan (Manly); 1926, R. Wright (St. Geo.).

Teams.—1912, South Sydney; 1913-14, East Sydney; 1915-16, Botany; 1919-20, Botany; 1921, East Sydney; 1922-4, Botany; 1925-6, St. George.