Christmas Mile
Posted Saturday 25 Dec 2010 by Michael Gentle

Christmas morning saw 38 athletes line up for the annual Christmas Mile run. Winners - Thomas Delaney (Male), Bridey Delaney (Female), Riley Delaney (Male Handicap) and Kerry Edwards (Female Handicap). Well done everyone helping to raise valuable funds to be used for registration subsidies.

1. Shannon Delaney, 2. Thomas Delaney, 3. Ben Toomey, 4. Bridey Delaney, 5. Riley Delaney, 6. Paul Windridge, 7. Nathan Breen, 8. Chris Mullin, 9. Jesse Young, 10. Sean Hogan, 11. Bob Simpson, 12. John Lee, 13. Lyn Delaney, 14. Tim Edwards, 15. Chris Breen, 16. Mark Simpson, 17 Steph Beck, 18. Emma Millett, 19. Blair Young, 20. Mendo Stojkovski, 21 Nathan Johnston , 22 Kim Delaney, 23. John Irvine, 24. David Burns, 25. Peter Nash, 26. David Beck, 27. Mathew Simpson, 28. Kerry Edwards, 29. Tom Mullin, 30. David Edwards, 31 . Michael McGuirk, 32. Patricia Simpson, 33. John Smith, 34. Camille Phillips, 35. The Eagle, 36. Maria McGuirk, 37. Albie Thomas, 38 injured Gary Young.
New Club Record
Posted Thursday 9 Dec 2010 by Michael Gentle

Ben St Lawrence
's time of 28:05.25 at the Zatopek 10,000m event has broken the Open Male Club Record that he set in the same event last year (28:05.73). Congratulations Ben.

Zatopek 10
Posted Thursday 9 Dec 2010 by Michael Gentle

Our club super stars were on display at the prestigious Zatapoc 10 event at Olympic Park in Melbourne.

In the men's 10,000m event
Ben St Lawrence
proved once again what an impressive Australian distance runner he is, finishing second to Kenyan runner Josphat Menjo (27:39.80) who has the world's fastest 10,000m time in 2010. USA runner Bobby Curtis finished in third place. Menjo pulled away from the rest of the field about halfway through the race, with Ben finishing 200m behind in 28:05.25. As this race was the National 10,000m Championship and Ben was the first Australian, he is the 10,000m Australian Champion for 2010.

In the same race fellow NSW team mate & SGDAC member
Tim Rowe
featured well in the second pack of runners for most of the race. He came home in 14th place – 11th Australian with a  time 29:51.79.

The women's National 10,000m Championship was won by NSW runner Eloise Wellings (32:08.32), with Lara Tamsett (32:32.02) in second place & Jessica Trengove third. SGDAC member
Belinda Martin
ran another great race coming home in 6th place (35:12.63).

The women's 1500 race was won by Kaila McKnight (4:18.74) closely followed by a strongly finishing Bridey Delaney (4:19.61) with Katelyn Simpson in 3rd place (4:22.38). This was Bridey's first race since coming back from Europe in July and recovering from illness.

School Sport Australia 12 Years & Under Championship
Posted Friday 3 Dec 2010 by Michael Gentle

New junior club members
Grace Robinson
Pita Toamotu
recorded outstanding results at the National PSSA Championships held at Bendigo (Vic) to finish with 3 National titles & a Third place. A magnificent effort from Grace, Pita and their coach Ray Russell.

New Club Records
Posted Sunday 21 Nov 2010 by Michael Gentle

New club member
Grace Robinson
has broken the U14 Female Club Record for Discus Throw 1kg with her throw of 35.72m, which beats the previous mark of 34.84m that was set by Zoe Schubert on 14 October 2006.

This effort came one day after Grace equalled the U14 Female Club Record for Shot Put 3kg that was set by Alice Iosefo on 14 October 2006. Congratulations Grace.

The team of
Sally Page
Matilda Werner
Alison Severino
Sarah Riggs
has broken the Open Female Club Record for 4x Javelin Relay with a combined total of 138.78m. This beats the previous record of 134.70m that was set on 21/11/09 by the U18 team of Alison Severino, Sonya Kelly, Matilda Werner & Catherine Smith, and which remains the U18 State Record. Congratulations team.

NSW Relay Championships
Posted Sunday 21 Nov 2010 by Michael Gentle

A total of 17 St George teams competed in the NSW Relay Championships at SOPAC, resulting in 3 gold medals, 2 silver medals, 3 bronze medals, 2 individual club records and 1 team club record. Congratulations to everyone who represented the Club with pride.